A short history of Boogie-Woogie & Blues Pianos

How is it possible that, despite today's flood of media, the style of the classical boogie piano still finds such a large fan community? Anyone who has ever experienced a real boogie concert will understand:

"Boogie is a twelve-bar antidepressant that automatically puts the listener in a good mood. Boogie-woogie is considered to be the hottest music ever invented for the piano," is a quote from Boogie-woogie King Axel Zwingenberger.

Even a reserved audience thaws at the latest after the first chorus. The real boogie fans, on the other hand, are already "out of the woods" when the boogie pianist appears. They pull along directly: Applause, whistling and swinging are the order of the day. Piano music can hardly be more contagious. Boogie mood is created by the unique mixture of power, swing, freshness and blues, very rhythmic, directed forward and sharply accentuated, dreamy in between - melancholic, but never kitschy or sentimental.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

 

The beginning

 

USA, Texas, around 1900: It is the age of railways. Black, rhythmically booming and garishly whistling monsters that need one thing above all else: Wood. Wood for heating, wood for rails, wood for bridges. The east of Texas has wood. Huge pine forests cover large parts of the country. Pines, which not only supply wood, but whose resin also forms the basis for turpentine oil, are tapped off here, filled into barrels and temporarily stored in so-called barrelhouses. The work is hard. Trees are still felled by hand, cut up and transported by horses and oxen to the next railway station. Free time is only available at night and on weekends.

 

As compensation they had gambling, prostitution, alcohol and of course music. At night these "barrel houses" turned into cheap dives where people celebrated until the early hours of the morning. The pianists moved from camp to camp, earning their modest living for eight hours playing the piano.

 

In the noise of these mostly overpopulated pubs, it is said, the pianist, who had to take care of the entertainment of the guests, had always had difficulty asserting himself loudly. For this reason a special style had been invented, Barrelhouse, which was distinguished by a rigid, hammered bass and equally hammered, loud staccati of the right hand. The name boogie-woogie did not exist at that time. This kind of music was called "Barrelhous-Piano".

 

How the genuine "Southern piano style" should sound was shown to the big-city musicians by the siblings Thomas, who brought the origin of boogie from Texas to Chicago: George Thomas, Hersal Thomas and their sister Sippie Wallace. History was particularly marked by the child prodigy Hersal Thomas, who in 1924, at the age of 14, played a piano role with a groundbreaking piano piece "The Fives". Piano rolls are perforated paper tapes in which the music is "stored". These were used for the automatic playing pianos and were very common at that time.

 

In "The Fives", the train and its rolling forward movement are the focus for the first time. The theme "train" finds some more variations in the course of boogie-woogie history (e.g. in "Honky Tonk Train Blues" by Mead Lux Lewis). Hersal Thomas, a promising young musician who was celebrated in Chicago as "King of House Rent Boogie Parties", unfortunately died of food poisoning at the age of 18 under never fully clarified circumstances. His sister Sippe Wallace belonged to one of the most famous blues singers and became known in Germany through the collaboration with Axel Zwingenberger, who dedicated the "Blues for Sippie Wallace" to her. She reached a high age and died in 1986 at the age of 88.

 

If one looks for the result of the early development, one could agree on the simplified musical formula for Boogie "Ragtime plus Blues ergibt Boogie Woogie". Typical of this is the twelve-bar blues form, in which the left hand plays a fixed bass figure, while the right hand is responsible for the melody. In any case, it was first generation pianists like Cow Cow Davenport, Clarence Pinetop Smith, Jimmy Yancey, Jimmy Blythe, Montana Taylor, Cripple Clarence Lofton who combined ragtime and blues and laid the foundation for the "classical" piano boogie woogie.

 

One of the first boogie woogie pianists to become famous with his own music was Charles Edward Davenport (1894-1956). Already at the age of twelve he wanted to become a musician against the will of the family. So he was sent to the seminary where he was thrown out for playing ragtime. In the 20's he gained his first fame as an accompanist of the blues singers Dora Carr and Ivy Smith. With his piece "Cow Cow Blues", in which he imitated a train with the piano, he created both his nickname "Cow Cow" and one of the most played boogies of all time. The economic crisis and a stroke interrupted his career in the 1930s and he had to work as a dishwasher for some time until he was rediscovered and rehabilitated by jazz pianist Art Hodes in 1938.

 

His song "Cow Cow Blues" was the foundation stone for Ray Charles' big hit "Mess Around".

 

In the mid 1920s boogie woogie came to the east coast of the USA. Chicago and New York became the secret capitals of piano virtuosos. But boogie-woogie became really popular in a somewhat unusual way through the so-called "House Rent Parties".

Für Veranstalter

Downloads

Kontakt

Chris Conz

Breitigasse 1

CH-8610 Uster

chris@chrisconz.ch

+41 79 753 96 94

© 2019 by Chris Conz - Boogie Woogie, Blues and Jazz Piano - Switzerland

Eine kurze Geschichte des Boogie-Woogie & Blues Pianos

Wie kommt es zustande, dass trotz der heutigen Medienüberflutung die Stilrichtung des klassischen Boogie Pianos immer noch eine so große Fan-Gemeinde findet? Wer einmal ein richtiges Boogie-Konzert miterleben durfte, wird es verstehen:

“Boogie ist ein zwölftaktiges Antidepressivum, das den Zuhörer automatisch in gute Laune versetzt. Boogie-Woogie gilt als die heißeste Musik, die je für das Klavier erfunden wurde”, lautet ein Zitat von Boogie-Woogie König Axel Zwingenberger.

Auch zurückhaltendes Publikum taut spätestens nach dem ersten Chorus auf. Die echten Boogie Fans dagegen sind schon beim Erscheinen des Boogie-Pianisten “aus dem Häuschen”. Sie ziehen direkt mit: Zwischenapplaus, Pfeifen und Mitswingen sind angesagt. Ansteckender kann Klaviermusik kaum sein. Boogie Laune entsteht durch die einmalige Mischung aus Kraft, Swing, Frische und Blues, sehr rhythmisch, vorwärts gerichtet und scharf akzentuiert, zwischendurch verträumt – melancholisch, aber nie kitschig oder sentimental.

 

Der Anfang

 

USA, Texas, um 1900: Es ist das Zeitalter der Eisenbahnen. Schwarze, rhythmisch dröhnende und grell pfeifende Ungetüme, die vor allem eins brauchen: Holz. Holz zum Heizen, Holz für Schienen, Holz für Brücken. Der Osten von Texas hat Holz. Riesige Kieferwälder bedecken große Teile des Landes. Kiefern, die nicht nur Holz liefern, sondern deren Harz auch die Basis für Terpentinöl darstellt, dass hier abgezapft, in Fässer (Barrels) abgefüllt und in sog. Barrelhouses zwischengelagert wird. Die Arbeit ist hart. Bäume werden nach wie vor von Hand gefällt, zerteilt und mit Hilfe von Pferden und Ochsen bis zur nächsten Bahnstation abtransportiert. Freizeit gibt es nur Nachts und am Wochenende.

 

Als Ausgleich hatten sie Glücksspiele, Prostitution, Alkohol und natürlich die Musik. Nachts verwandelten sich diese „Fasshäuser“ in billige Spelunken, in denen bis früh in die Morgenstunden gefeiert wurde. Die Pianisten zogen von Lager zu Lager und verdienten so ihr bescheidenes Geld für acht Stunden Klavierspiel.

 

Im Lärm dieser meist übervölkerten Kneipen, so heißt es, habe der Pianist, der für die Unterhaltung der Gäste zu sorgen hatte, jeweils Mühe gehabt, sich lautstärkemässig durchzusetzten. Aus diesem Grund sei ein besonderer Stil erfunden worden, Barrelhouse eben, der sich durch einen starren, gehämmerten Bass und durch ebenso gehämmerte, lautstarke Staccati der rechten Hand ausgezeichnet habe. Der Name Boogie-Woogie gab es zu dieser Zeit noch nicht. Man nannte diese Art von Musik „Barrelhous-Piano“.

 

Wie der echte „Südstaaten Klavierstil“ klingen sollte, zeigten den Großstadt-Musikern u.a. die Geschwister Thomas, die den Ursprung des Boogie von Texas nach Chicago brachten: George Thomas, Hersal Thomas und deren Schwester Sippie Wallace. In die Geschichte ging vor allem das Wunderkind Hersal Thomas ein, der 1924, im Alter von 14 Jahren, eine Klavierrolle mit einem wegweisenden Klavierstück „The Fives“ einspielte. Klavierrollen sind gelochte Papierbänder in denen die Musik „gespeichert“ ist. Diese wurden für die automatisch spielenden Klaviere benutzt und waren dazumal sehr verbreitet.

 

In „The Fives“ steht der Zug und seine rollende Vorwärtsbewegung zum ersten Mal im Mittelpunkt. Das Thema “Zug” findet im Verlaufe der Boogie-Woogie-Geschichte noch einige weitere Variationen (z.B. im „Honky Tonk Train Blues“ von Mead Lux Lewis). Hersal Thomas, ein vielversprechender junger Musiker, der in Chicago als „King of House Rent Boogie Parties“ gefeiert wurde, starb leider im Alter von 18 Jahren unter nie zu Ende geklärten Umständen an einer Lebensmittelvergiftung. Seine Schwester Sippe Wallace gehörte zu einer der bekanntesten Bluessängerinnen und wurde in Deutschland durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Axel Zwingenberger bekannt, der ihr den „Blues for Sippie Wallace“ widmete. Sie erreichte ein hohes Alter und starb 1986 mit 88 Jahren.

 

Sucht man nach dem Ergebnis der frühen Entwicklung, so könnte man sich auf die vereinfachte musikalische Formel für Boogie „Ragtime plus Blues ergibt Boogie Woogie“ einigen. Typisch dabei – die zwölftaktige Bluesform, in der die linke Hand eine feste Bassfigur spielt, während die rechte für die Melodie zuständig ist. Es waren auf jeden Fall die Pianisten der ersten Generation wie Cow Cow Davenport, Clarence Pinetop Smith, Jimmy Yancey, Jimmy Blythe, Montana Taylor, Cripple Clarence Lofton, die Ragtime und Blues kombinierten und den Grundstein für den „klassischen“ Piano Boogie Woogie legten.

 

Einer der ersten Boogie-Woogie Pianisten, der mit seiner eigenen Musik berühmt wurde, war Charles Edward Davenport (1894-1956). Schon als Zwölfjähriger wollte er gegen den Willen der Familie Musiker werden. So hat man ihn ins Priesterseminar geschickt, wo er aber wegen Spielens von Ragtime rausgeworfen wurde. In den 20er Jahren erwarb er sich den ersten Ruhm als Begleiter der Bluessängerinnen Dora Carr und Ivy Smith. Mit seinem Stück „Cow Cow Blues“, in dem er mit dem Klavier einen Zug imitierte, schuf er sowohl seinen Spitznamen „Cow Cow“ als auch einen der meistgespielten Boogies aller Zeiten. Die Wirtschaftskrise und ein Schlaganfall unterbrachen seine Karriere in den 1930er Jahren.Eine Zeitlang musste er als Spülhilfe arbeiten, bis er 1938 von dem Jazzpianisten Art Hodes wiederentdeckt und rehabilitiert wurde.

 

Sein Song „Cow Cow Blues“ war der Grundstein für Ray Charles’ grossen Hit „Mess Around“.

 

Mitte der 1920er Jahre kam der Boogie-Woogie an die Ostküste der USA. Chicago und New York wurden die heimlichen Hauptstädte der Klaviervirtuosen. Richtig populär wurde der Boogie-Woogie aber auf eine etwas ungewöhnliche Art und Weise, und zwar durch die so genannten „House Rent Partys”.

Für Veranstalter

Downloads

Kontakt

Chris Conz

Breitigasse 1

CH-8610 Uster

chris@chrisconz.ch

+41 79 753 96 94

© 2019 | Chris Conz - Boogie Woogie, Blues und Jazz Piano - Schweiz